Daily WP Post: What 5 books/movies/etc. have influenced you the most?

What 5 books/movies/etc. have influenced you the most?.

The Neverending Story.

"Try not to eradicate all of Fantasia this time, Bastian. It's kind of a bummer."

This movie inspired me in the fantasy-fueled goodness that was my childhood.  I was completely enraptured by the trials of Bastian, and the tale of Atreyu.

And there weren’t even any unicorns.

That’s a pretty big deal for a girl who’s toys of choice were usually My Little Ponies, She Ra horses, and any other one-horned, winged, equine-based dolls I could talk my parents into buying for me.

To this day, the themes of that movie still stick with me:  The idea that humanity isn’t so far removed from our own creations, and that the worlds of our imaginations are completely dependent on our acknowledgement of them, whether in prose, on celluloid, or on a canvas.

It first inspired my own personal fantasy world, which sticks with me to this day.  One day, perhaps, I will get around to presenting that place to this world en masse.

Jurassic Park

Much like xkcd, I still fear velociraptors.

I was already vaguely interested in dinosaurs when this movie came out the summer I turned 14.  How could a fantasy affictionato not be hooked on the idea of real-life dragons?!

The dumbest smart people I've ever seen.

And then Jurassic Park came out.

I rarely see a movie twice in the theater.  If I do, it’s usually because I followed a group of people who wanted to see it, rather than because I actually enjoyed the movie.

This was not one of those times.

I watched it in the theater once with my sister, and was on the edge of my seat the whole time.  The second time I saw it was with my parents when we went to the beach for vacation, and I fell for it even harder.

That was the summer that I drew loads and loads of dinosaur pictures, though I believe many of them have been lost in time.

Even to this day, I have some choice words I’d love to say to John Hammond.  Or Dennis Nedry.  Or anyone involved in making freaking dinosaurs when they COULD be putting that technology to better use in the medical community!

But that’s another rant for another time.

It inspires me because it’s complete lunacy, but took over the mind of nerds everywhere.  It taught us that no matter how tempting it may be, cloning probably just isn’t a good idea.

Show and Tell has never been more awesome

Edward Scissorhands

Poor guy; all he wants is love!  He’s weird-looking, lonely, and quiet.  But despite his appearance, he’s a very kind-hearted, shy person who simply wants to fit in.

Which is a pretty apt description of me in high school.

Inspiring because, even though things didn’t end up being picture-perfect for Ed, he still ends up inspired and encouraged.  He doesn’t let people’s opinions get in the way of creating beautiful things (or at the very least, creative things).

An inspiration for anyone who feels isolated by their own weirdness.

Tron: Legacy

A fairly new edition, to be sure!  But something that I find incredibly good and heart-breaking all at the same time.

"I'm gonna knock on the sky, and listen to the sound."

For those who haven’t seen the film, I’ll try not to spoil anything.  But let’s just say the story of Older Flynn gets me every time.  And who would have thought that a movie about computers would have such deeply spiritual themes?

Even if you’re not a fan of sci-fi or fantasy…even if you hate computers with every fiber of your being…I highly recommend this movie.  It goes to show how inspiration can take us humans so far….and yet teach us how little we actually know, and how little control we actually have.

Unlike JP, however, it does this in a much more personal way.  A way I can’t fully describe without spoiling the movie.

I look forward to the sequels.

Little Black Book

I realize this one is a bit out of kilter with the rest, but let me explain:  Normally, I’m not a fan of romance movies.  They’re just not my thing.

Don’t get me wrong; I love romance in and of itself, but watching a movie about it that follows a specific formula that hardly ever works in real life irritates me.

Ladies, know which doctor is which before making your appointment.

You know the formula for most romance movies:  Guy and girl meet, awkwardly fall in love, have a huge “misunderstanding” and break up for two days, then get back together when one of them makes an incredibly public and romantic gesture.

Inevitably, it’s the men who get in trouble in these movies…even if the woman is the one who was deceptive.  (Yeah, I don’t get it either.)

Yet, I like Little Black Book, mostly because it doesn’t conform to that formula.  Again, to avoid spoilers, I won’t tell you the ending…except that it doesn’t work out like you expect movies like this to.

It works out in a much more empowering and inspiring way.

Another movie similar to it is My Best Friend’s Wedding, which I enjoy for similar reasons (and also because Jules is absolutely insane.  Seriously nuts.)

Plus, Brittany Murphy is just a fun actress to watch.

What movies/books/etc. have you found inspiring? 

(Wordcount: 924)

Categories: Daily Post, Movies | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Daily WP Post: What 5 books/movies/etc. have influenced you the most?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

