Day 4: Dwindling Motivation.

For the first time this week, I sat down at my desk to write on my NaNo novel….and felt underwhelmed.  Unmotivated.  Tired of thinking about it.

I don’t want this to become like a homework assignment, or the 12 to 15 page research reports we had to do in college.  I want it to be fun, inspirational, motivating, and even great practice!

I know that becoming a published novelist is hard work.  I realize that NaNo is a GREAT opportunity to practice for things like deadlines.  It was because of those reasons (and because I know that if I make myself, I CAN do it) that I was able to pound out a little over 500 words this morning.  I will work on getting out more later on today.

I’m luckier than most NaNites, in one respect:  I can write during work.  And often, it’s helped the day go faster, especially when there’s nothing else going on.

Have I been tempted to Gaia it up?  You bet!  But I’m determined to avoid it and sites like it like the PLAGUE  at least until the end of November.  Why waste words arguing with people on the Internet or trying to fight forum trolls when I could be using my words for something much more constructive and awesome?  Yesterday afternoon, I even realized I needed to avoid Stuff Christians Like, because even on a Christian humor site there are discussions lying in wait to distract me from my singular purpose this November:  To actually write a 50,000-word novel.  Even if it drives me and my loved ones BATTY!!

As it stands right now, I’m right on track….but I want to do better than be “right on track”.  I want to blow my own expectations away, and get the story out before it either disappears or I completely run out of motivation and mental energy.

So here’s to getting over the first week hump!  HOO HAA!!

Are you doing NaNo?  If so, are you still motivated?  Or are you starting to feel the burn?

Categories: NaNo 2011 | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 4: Dwindling Motivation.

  1. Forget it for today and come back to it fresh tomorrow early!

    I hope you have a better day tomorrow.

    R

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

