Day 15: Lightbulb!

I’ve found a way out of my dilemma, and the solution was so simple that I can’t believe I didn’t start off this way!

I’ve been shuffling awkwardly between Group A and Group B via chapters, and even chapter breaks.

It’s….not working.  And it’s giving a weird tone to the whole story.

So Act I will be for telling Group A’s story, Act II will be for Group B’s story, and Act III will be when A vs B, as intended.

I think it will work out well, and with a little more re-organization, I’ll be a lot freer to approach both sides of this tale!  HOO HAA!!

Have you had those lightbulb moments?  When suddenly it all snapped together?  What was that moment like?

Categories: NaNo 2011 | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Day 15: Lightbulb!

  1. Sounds like a good structure 🙂 I’ve had quite a few of those lightbulb moments, one of them being two weeks before NaNoWriMo started and my plot wasn’t working. I couldn’t seem to get it right, and eventually I realised the reason was because I had some great characters (in my opinion, at least) and in order to use them I was trying to get a plot to fit around them, but it wasn’t working. The plot was only there so I could write about those characters, which was why it was flat. The lightbulb came when I realised I should just take the characters and leave the plot behind and find a new one. I had been waiting for that lightbulb moment for a while, so I was quite glad when it turned up!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

