Dreams and Hard Work

Writer Wordart

Writer Wordart (Photo credit: MarkGregory007)

Stephen King is right; writing IS hard work!

These days, I think it’s a lot easier than it was when he first started out, but it’s also harder.

It’s never been easier to share one’s ideas with the world, what with endless video, blogging, and forum sites to choose from!  You can share literally ANYTHING with ANYONE, which wasn’t as much of a thing back in the early 70s.

On the other hand, it seems like everyone and their brother who has access to the internet, whether from “borrowing” a neighbor’s, using a library’s, or even *gasp!* paying for one’s own, it makes it ten times harder to get noticed.

Even when it comes to fiction, I’ve often found myself getting intimidated not because I don’t think I’m a good writer, but because I don’t know if I am good enough to stand out from all the other writers in a positive way!

On the other hand, NaNo 2011, friends new and old, and my own bothersome inspiration all give me hope!  If I have a relatively small group of folks who really like what I have to offer, I think I would be good.  I think too much fame and money can eventually corrupt a person, and I wouldn’t want to become that kind of writer.  At least, not right away.

I *would* like to make enough money to get my dream house, and to pay off student loans!  That would be kind of awesome!  It would also be awesome to be able to take my job with me wherever I go, instead of having to find jobs in different locales wherever I go.

These are my dreams:  To have a successful fiction-writing career, and live in a cool, interesting place.

That’s not asking too much, right?

Right.

ON-WARD HO!!

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

