Day 18: A Cracked Video

I can’t say for sure, but I’m fairly certain that Cracked is making fun of NaNo (and writing vs. relationships in general) with the following video.  (There’s some cursing towards the very end, because it’s Cracked.com..)

How To Survive Life As A Character In A Bad Work Of Fiction

Ohh, and the laughs I did have!

In other writerly news, I ditched the stupid Hong Kong story.  The only way to save it was if I brought in the Old Ones to suck everyone out of the world via a purple angle (not ANGEL, but ANGLE) and into a weird city with tentacle monsters and human-faced rats everywhere.  And, as entertaining as that would be for me to write, it wasn’t even kind of close to what I’ve been wanting to spend my time writing.   (Kudos to anyone who gets those references.)

So I ditched it (meaning I put it away for safe keeping, and am pretending it doesn’t exist), started a new project in Scrivener, and got to work on my long-awaited Chronicles of [Insert Name Of Fantasy World Here].

Let me be honest:  When I used to write, I didn’t mind writing crap.  Now, I mind it.  A LOT.  I don’t want to just write something I know I have no intention of polishing up.  I want to write something I fully INTEND to polish up!

I just wasn’t sure of how to do it until now.  But I recently realized a couple of things that I really should have realized before now:

Even if there is no real dialogue conversations, the plot and story can still progress.  I learned this from H. P. Lovecraft, of all people.  The man could write a ridiculously spooky and frightening story without the need for excess dialogue, sex, or bad language.  (I have also realized that Hollywood has no idea what to do with Lovecraft’s stories, but that’s another post for another time.)

— Just because the main story takes place in the fantasy world doesn’t mean that’s where the story has to start.  Go and read the very beginning of just about every fantasy story ever.  Or any supernatural story.  It always begins with someone being pulled out of their very normal and mundane lives, and into weird, exciting, and unusual circumstances.  Often against their will.

(I thought I had a third thing, but heck if I remember what it was now..)

Realizing these two things in the past week or so has transformed my writing.  I feel like things are going much smoother now, if I can just sit down and get some ideas down on virtual paper.

And I’ve had plenty of sleep!  lol

Question:  What revelations transformed your writing recently, if any?

Categories: Camp Nano 2012, Chronicles, Fiction, National Novel Writing Month, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

